SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
21 376852 3/7/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
95% of reviewers $1,698.01
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
9.05
spacerspacer
9.29
spacerspacer
9.00
nikon24-70f28.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Mid Tele Zoom 35mm AF-S Tested


Sephiroth

Registered: March 2014
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Sephiroth
Review Date: 3/7/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,200.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: weight

The best lens i have (with the 70-200) tack sharp from 24 to 70...
The only drawback is the weight.. for me is a 98% on my camera even at night
mrcontinental

Registered: December 2010
Posts: 7
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by mrcontinental
Review Date: 8/10/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,645.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent color and contrast, built like a tank
Cons: Heavy and a bit long

This has been the professional standard since it was introduced and with good reason. Razor sharp with outstanding color and contrast. A bit of distortion at the wide end but it's better than not getting the shot at all.


Not perfect of course but anyone who expects perfection at this price is dreaming. Works fantastic in the field which is all I care about. The brick wall shooters can whine all they want about this lens but it is top notch if you are into actual photography and not lens testing.
0002mantt

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 1
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by 0002mantt
Review Date: 3/8/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Smooth Operation, Sharp Images, Reasonable Bokeh
Cons: Heavy, no VR

I have been impressed with the image quality. I wish it is better at 2.8 but you can't have everything and still keeping the price and weight reasonable.


The auto-focus is fast on my D800 and the images are tack sharp from f4 and on. Images taken at 2.8 is a little soft but good enough for portrait.
DaveJDSP

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by DaveJDSP
Review Date: 12/14/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Total Spent: $1,887.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Well built. Pretty quick focusing.
Cons: Mediocre image quality, especially poor in corners. Must stop down to al least f11 to have any chance at full-frame quality. Susceptible to flare. No VR. Manual focus ring is too quick which makes fine focus adjustment impossible. WAY too expensive for th

I'm returning this one for exchange.
At $500/hr for helicopter time, you want your lens to be sharp. All the way out to the corners. And without VR (this lens doesn't have it) you need all the speed you can get to fight the helicopter vibration. This copy is unusable below f11. For a $200 kit lens, that might be ok. But not for this lens @ ~$1800! Also, on the 36MP D800, you want a lens that is up to the task. This copy of this lens is not.
According the test at SLRgear (industry benchmark!), this lens should be dynamite from f4 on up, and even very good at f2.8. But the one I'm returning is not.
The one I rented a few months ago was better but not great. I'm disappointed in Nikon's quality control.


update 2013-01-24:
I ordered another copy of the Nikon 24-70 f2.8 and also 2 copies of the new Tamron 24-70 f2.8 VC, all from B&H (they are always great).
I tested all 3 lenses scientifically and rigorously. Studio shooting with flash, architectural, landcapes @ infinity. One of the Tamrons was the clear winner. The other copy of the Tamron and both copies of the Nikon were unacceptable for my work. None of the lenses give truly sharp corners at any aperture or focal length. But the one Tamron was close enough to get by (I hate just "getting by") (f11 is the only aperture that gives tolerable results at all focal lengths on the best Tamron).


Anyway, the better of the two Tamrons clearly beat out both copies of the Nikon. Better center sharpness, better corner sharpness, better resistance to flare, better micro-contrast, better color, and of course it has VC as a bonus! The Nikon does focus a little faster, especially in low light, but in my studio people focus tests, I got more hits with the Tamron than with the Nikon. And of course the Tamron is about $1200 and the Nikon closer to $2000.
I would be GLAD to pay $2000, or even more, for an excellent lens. Nikon needs FAR better quality control - they should be ashamed.


Get the Tamron.
But whatever lens(es) you get, be sure to order at least 2-3 copies and test rigorously (if you care at all about image quality), as there can be huge variation from one copy to the next.
Zolotusca

Registered: April 2010
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Zolotusca
Review Date: 8/1/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,854.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very good image quality, good construction
Cons: low 10 years warranty (lead free), zoom ring too close to camera (less used focus ring takes the best position for handling)

A heavy lens, too long for its focal range, with zoom ring in a difficult position for handling (too close to the camera) and with a focus ring in a privileged position (besides the fact that is rarely used). Ergonomically need to be reconsidered for the future similar lenses.
Being lead-free (EU regulation) the lens is guaranteed for only 10 years, after that period the electronics and moving leaded parts being not replaceable. It is a very costly lens for only 10 years of use (or even less than 10 years, counted from the date of production not of purchase).
Good points: very good image quality (chromatic aberrations, vignetting and distortions are in an acceptable range and totally correctable in camera or in post-processing). Fast and precise response at the twist of zoom and focusing rings. Fast AF and VR with low noise, but on video the noise is not negligible. Good quality hood.
Prime Minister

Registered: May 2011
Posts: 33
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Prime Minister
Review Date: 6/13/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,500.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharpness, contrast, focus speed, build quality, speed
Cons: None

Sharpness and contrast at all focal lengths and all apertures is excellent for a zoom lens. Actually, the image quality surpasses that of many Nikon primes too. Really impressive. Image quality wise there’s no reason to get the nifty fifty out of the camera bag.


Focussing is very fast, accurate and silent. The build quality of this lens is very good. It feels like it was made of a solid block of metal. One minor thing is the rubber on the zoom ring. It might come loose over time, but this can be fixed.


Yes, this is a relatively large and heavy lens. However, the combined weight of i.e. a 24mm, 50mm and a 85mm prime comes close and you’d have to switch lenses. There’s distortion, but it’s relatively easy to fix. It’s not a problem for me.


The supplied lens hood is sturdy and deep. It looks like an effective design, but it’s huge. Overall I think there’s little to fault with this lens.
ShutterMan

Registered: January 2011
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by ShutterMan
Review Date: 1/28/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,699.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: It does most everything well to very well, just nothing spectacular.
Cons: Price,Distortion at 24mm, CAs in borders 24mm-60mm

Pros:
Good overall image quality. (35mm 1.5 AF/S and 70-200mm VR II kill this in overlapping focal lengths.)
Flare resistance
Vignetting is well controlled F/4 and smaller
High quality materials (build)
AF speed is fast!


Cons:
Price
Distortion at 24mm
Large (Scares people)


Neutral:
CAs in borders 24mm-60mm (middle of road performer)


Bottom Line:
Not my favorite lens, but the performance is good and a must for event photographers. F/2.8 is already a little slow and anything slower will not do. It does most everything well to very well, just nothing spectacular.
jtorral

Registered: September 2010
Posts: 9
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by jtorral
Review Date: 1/19/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Build and Optical quality
Cons: Size and weight

To see hundreds of photos with this lens and compare to others look here:


http://nikonimages.com/standardgallery.php?lenstype=940&showall


You can get an idea of how this lens performs with different camera.
andre_

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 29
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by andre_
Review Date: 7/25/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,600.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp, no CA, no flare, even from f2.8
Cons: huge barrell distorsion at 24mm, nano-crystal coating make shadows too deep and colors too saturated

I've considered to purchase the old 28-70mm for years.
At the end, I've thougt the 24-70 more flexible and I've chosen this lens.


I think it's an outstanding lens, sharp and linear, with also a good bokeh (for being a zoom lens).


The flare is surprislingly low, as well as the CA (both invisibles in many limit-situation).


Sometime I'm a little disappointed by the color rendition.
Too saturate, too contrastated, with the shadows too deep.... a Canon-like rendition, actually.


Fortunately, is very easy to develop the RAWs in every software converter to "come back" to the "Nikon-like" rendition, and this lens doesn't lost any color or detail.


In the real life, this zoom is a perfect fellow, both for landscape and street photos.


It has a very huge barrell distortion in the very low-focals range.
It's substantially neutral around 35mm, ad has a visible pincushin distorsion over 50mm.


Luckily, the lens correction in LightRoom 3 and 4 works very fine.


The AF is fast and precise.
a_
bangkokuwa

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by bangkokuwa
Review Date: 6/15/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast AF, sharp and great handling quality , lighter than my Canon 24-70L.
Cons: not-internal-zoom, noVR2.

I love this lens and most used in fact , but as I quit wedding work myself and now, a strictly portrait and travel photographer , I may sell it for a couple of long primes or sell my 70-200f2.8VR2(more likely).


So, if you shoot events with a couple of Nikon bodies , then get it , you wont regret but it needs the VR2.


And I think if it were internal zoom design , it would be perfect.


I really prefer my 16-35f4VR and 70-200f2.8VR2 in terms of build and handling but this lens is more used and more practical lens in real life.


it does not matter how sharp it is if you dont need its focal range , for me the 70-200 range is not needed really and I got it only for my wedding work any way, I am thinking about down grading the 70-200VR2 to the AFS70-300VR (I had it before and I know it is equally sharp) to go with this AFS24-70 and 85f1.4D , 105f2DC and 50AFS.


but that said if you want sharpest zoom , go for the newer AF70-200f2.8GEDVR2...........
Cliff Beard

Registered: May 2009
Posts: 12
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Cliff Beard
Review Date: 9/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great image quality, weight and handling, build quality
Cons: Uneven weight on zoom ring, weight, stowage of hood

This is most definitely a pro-quality lens as it should be for the price.


Image quality is top notch with plenty of sharpness and contrast. There is a fair bit of distortion on full frame in the corners, which can be a bit soft...I think this seems due to field curvature placing the corners out of focus rather than a resolution issue, so use depth of field carefully.


The weight and form of the lens makes for great handling and I have used it as a portrait lens with great success on both crop and full frame. Overall its more versatile on full frame where 24mm is suitably wide for landscape. It takes filters, unlike the 14-24, which is nice. The zoom ring feels a bit under-damped and has uneven weighting, probably owing to the weight of the zoom group.


The supplied hood does a great job but I do find it niggling to carry the lens in most bags as the hood is simply too bulky...it has to be detached and take up another space in the bag, but if it does its job well, I guess that's the most important thing.


As with all pro-optics I find it too heavy to justify travelling with for all but the most special of trips.


Overall avery nice lens with the usual pro-level benefits of great optics and handling and penalties of weight and bulk.
jake

Registered: August 2009
Posts: 8
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by jake
Review Date: 8/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

my first lens for Nikon D700 and by my opinion the best standart zoom as ever made
Robert Bertin

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 1
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by Robert Bertin
Review Date: 6/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,799.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic image quality and suberb construction.
Cons: Flash shadow below 35mm on D200

This is the best lens I've ever used. I enlarged several test shots in CS4 just to see the results and was more than impressed with the sharpness. My only complaint - and this is for use on a Nikon D200 - is that the built-in flash leaves quite a center-bottom shadow when zoomed below 35mm (lens hood removed of course). It's a minor drawback but is something to be aware of when using the integrated camera flash. Perhaps this wouldn't occur using a D700 with its higher integrated flash position.
Nevertheless, I'm pleased with the lens and think it's worth the price I paid.
GregTheRotter

Registered: June 2009
Posts: 3
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by GregTheRotter
Review Date: 6/3/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $2,100.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp enough to make me consider leaving the primes at home, it's that good for a zoom. f2.8
Cons: the price AFTER the Nikon price hikes. I paid an extra 350 US over what it used to sell for

This lens really is worth every penny.


I bought this lens in the UK, where it cost me 1311 GBP, at the current exchange rate, that works out to over 2000 US. Oh well.
SimonCarter

Registered: January 2009
Posts: 1
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by SimonCarter
Review Date: 1/15/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,450.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Image Quality for a Zoom Lens
Cons:

I currently use this lens on a Nikon D300 body. So this review is based on D300 / 24-70mm combo.


I brought this lens for wedding photography for it's zoom range and image quality. I have tested it at all focal lengths and apertures, (both in studio and outdoors) and I am 100% happy with it. Even wide open at f/2.8 it is extremely sharp. I love my 50mm f/1.4 lens, but it saddens me to think that it won't come out as much anymore as this new lens produces near identical results at 50mm (at some apertures it is even slightly sharper!).


Some people have written that weight is an issue, but I quite like the feel of this lens.


I don't belive VR is needed. I can produce images at 1/60th at 70mm hand held every time. And knowing that images are still sharp at 2.8 is comforting.


Focusing is fast and accurate.


I would highly recommend spending the money on this lens (just don't get upset at the thought of your 50mm f/1.4 lens gathering some dust!!!)
x-other

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by x-other
Review Date: 12/25/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,683.22| Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Sharp, Fast, Great IQ
Cons: Front focus, poor construction quality.

UPDATE May 31st 2010:


Well, since my previous review I've already changed the lens two times. So, overall, in less than 2 years the lens got broken 3 times because of the zoom ring which suddenly got rough between 28 and 24 mm. I don't know why is this happens, but I know that to get it fixed costs around 1.000 EUR. Mine was covered by warranty, but if it not, everyone can imagine how efficient this lens can it be.


I would not recommend it whatsoever!



_____________________________________________









I brought this lens from a retailer in Romania. I did not make the focus test right after I got it thinking it's silly to make it for a high grade lens. Finally when I did the test it showed about 2 mm front focus with the worst results at 70mm f/4. I went back to Nikon’s authorized service in Bucharest and they decided to change it right after I strongly refused to accept an “18-55 f3.5-5.6” as a replacement lens while mine was supposed to be sent in Germany for recalibration.
It's a shame for Nikon to have such a poor level of service in Romania. Imagine that you must wait up to 1-2 months to get back your lens or body back from the service because locally they are not capable to repair it and they must send it to Germany of other Nikon service. It happens me before with my D200 which showed well know banding issues.


It took about 4 months to have again quality problems with the replaced 24-70 f/2.8. Right before Christmas, during a photo session, unexpectedly the zoom collar becomes rough among 28mm and 24 mm and then it got stuck there. It's strange that I did not drop the lens or broke it. As a matter of fact I took care of it more than I took care of myself.


I took it back to the same Nikon's authorized service but this time they refused to change it, they keep it in service although they’re on holidays until January 5th, and again they were not able to provide a back up lens other than 16-85 f/3.5-5.6 AF-S VR. I'm shooting with d700 and I could not offer to my customer’s 5mpx pictures with a poorer IQ due to the lens. I'm expecting to get it back no early than February again because they couldn't repair it locally and have to send it to Germany. Probably it's just a screw issue...


Because I needed a wide lens for some shootings, even that 24 mm was wide enough for a FF, I had to go to the retailer to buy a brand new 14-24 f/2.8 in order not to get dropped by my customers. I wanted to buy that lens but not under the circumstances described above.
This experience cost me two trips to the service meaning 320 km made it twice because I'm not leaving in Bucharest and the cost for the new lens being forced by the circumstances. And yes, I'm frustrated because all of this!


SHAME NIKON, SHAME ON YOU!


Step inside:


http://www.flickr.com/photos/x-other/
shock

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 2
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by shock
Review Date: 10/27/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,699.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast focus, sharp, build quality, design, look...
Cons: nothing

It is great lens, before buying it I'm lookin for sharpest lens and I'm find it... Using it on Nikon d300, and sample full size images you can see on my portfolio... order images by date.


www.fotolia.com/p/5387/partner5387


In comparation with nikon 80-200 2.8 there is lot more shapness in images and much, much bether contol of purple fringe at lower f stops...


Another fullsize sample...
Image is taken in 14bit raw, and later exported in one at sharpnes 2 and anoter on sharpness 9... Later put together in two layers in photoshop... sharpen image is on eyes and hair... gread sample of sharpness...


1/250
f2.8
iso 100


two sb800 and softboxes... ezybox


http://www.shock.co.ba/index.php?option=com_zoom&Itemid=2&page=view&catid=7&PageNo=1&key=4&hit=1





And another sample... with no any postproduction...only converted raw
sharpness, 6 (9 max), satration 0,


f2.8, iso 100, 1/250.... two sb800 flashes with softboxes


http://www.shock.co.ba/index.php?option=com_zoom&Itemid=2&page=view&catid=40&PageNo=1&key=0&hit=1


This is my story... hope it will help someone...
shrikrishna

Registered: August 2008
Posts: 4
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by shrikrishna
Review Date: 8/7/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,950.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptional IQ, built to last and lot more.
Cons: Price, lengthy.

I had Tammy 28-75 F2.8 on my D300, and bought this as an upgrade. I am fida over it and it just amazes me every time I use it. Super fast focus, outstanding sharp image wide open, deadly pixel contrast, and built like a tank. I only wished to have it little shorter, and lighter (a wish!) because it being my walk-around lens, I wish to keep it in smaller travel-zoom bags. Lengthier it is, so doesn't fit in my existing TLZ-20!.
bobbibrown

Registered: May 2008
Posts: 4
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by bobbibrown
Review Date: 5/18/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,750.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp even at f/2.8; build forever; fast and reliable AF
Cons: Pricy

This is together with the Nikkor 14-24 f/2.8 my sharpest lens. It is a real workhorse and 100% reliable.
Highly recommended!!!
lextalionis

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 82
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by lextalionis
Review Date: 3/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,750.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Workhorse of a lens...great model photography lens.
Cons: None really, other than considerably more $$ than the Canon 24-70L

The lens performs very well. Sharp even at 2.8 but incredibly sharp stopped down one stop. Great lens all around!


Here are some sample photos taken with the Nikon D3:
Sample Photos


-Lex
ddt332

Registered: May 2007
Posts: 6
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor review by ddt332
Review Date: 12/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $1,700.00| Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp at any apecture! Great build! Prime killer.
Cons: Pricy.

This is easily my sharpest roon lens ever! I own Nikon's pro glasses like 17-35 f2.8, 70-200 f2.8, 17-55 f2.8, 50 f1.4, 12-24 f4, etc. However, this lens easily blew all my other lenses away. It beats my 50 f1.4 prime at F2.8!
Anti-glare ability is amazing. Nano-coating really works.
I can't wait to try it on my coming D3. Highly recommended!


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.