SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
7 93252 4/14/2007
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $400.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
7.57
spacerspacer
8.29
spacerspacer
8.43
1nikon18-35f35-45a.jpg


Keywords: Nikon Nikkor Wide Zoom 35mm Tested


NeoCon

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 4
Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by NeoCon
Review Date: 4/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $500.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

There is much to like about this lens. First, it works on both full frame and digital SLRs. If 18mm is not wide enough, I just put it on my film Nikon. Stopped down a couple stops it is great. Using it wide open at high ISOs, it is not sharp. This is only a problem inside in low light. The optical aberrations are easily corrected in PTLens. It is much better in this regard, than I was lead to believe.
thomiz

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 16
Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by thomiz
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Compact, lightweight, good AF
Cons: stop it down a little for optimum IQ

It is a very versatile lense, ok build, and quite fast AF, at least on D1 class body. The Image Quality is really good for such an inexpensive wide angle zoom. But i do deserve to be stopped down a little.
bfischer

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 15
Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by bfischer
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp stopped down, small, light, inexpensive
Cons: soft in the corner on film SLR unless stopped down, ugly barrel distortion

This lens is the 17-35/2.8 for the fiscally challenged. I used this lens on film SLR only, so my findings may not apply to DSLRs.


The lens is compact and light. Build quality is fair. The barrel extends while zooming. It has in IF design, so nothing outside moves while focusing.


You have to close the aperture about two stops to get sharp corners, but that is acceptable to an ultra wide zoom. At 18mm it has an ugly barrel distortion with a wavy signature. Vertical lines directly at the left or right border are still straight, but as your line moves a bit off the border, it gets heavily distorted. This is no lens for shooting architecture.


Nature photography is where this lens really shines. Contrast and color rendition are excellent (ED glass, yeah!). Flare resistance is ok.
Neogene

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by Neogene
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Perfect wide on film camera, solid, sharp
Cons: Noisy, need to be stopped down to have max sharpeness.

I tested this and the 18-55 DX on an unfair trial on my d50.


The nikkor 18-35 stopped to f8 at 18mm is really impressive, it's sharper than nikon 18-55 except on the left side.


At 35mm the nikkor 18-55 wins obviously but at its max value (@55mm) it looses with the 18-35@35mm (i know different max value but i tested to check quality at max lenght).


I'm using this lens on my N80 film camera to capture nice landscape shoots (so it's always stoppet to about f8 or more).


Colors for the 18-55 are a bit greenish, while 18-35 is much faithful.
CocoMonGo

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 8
Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by CocoMonGo
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, great optics, 18mm FF
Cons: You cannot use this lens at 18mm with too many filters

IF, ED ... only thing lacking is that its not a constant f/2.8. Focusing is fast on this lens, mainly because its a wide angle. The centre of the lens is very sharp, but very slightly softens towards the far corners (then again, how many lenses dont?). Distortion is acceptable to me (for the len's angle).


On my last overseas trip this was the only lens that i seriously used. Of the whole trip, it stayed on my camera almost 95% of the time and only once did I change my lens to the my other 70-300mm lens for a couple of shots.
The built of the lens isnt the best I have handled, again, it isnt the most expensive I have used either. The rubberized zoom ring is the one closer to the body, and is great to use, though slightly loose for my taste it is not a problem, just a matter of taste. Th zoom ring on the other hand, is slightly thinner (ok) but is even looser the the zoom ring, which can mean accidentally moving it when/if you fiddle with front filters. That said, I rarely use the manual focus anyway.


Flare is a problem with this lens. and the hood doesnt help much, if at all. I believe that when Nikon made the same hood useable on the 17-35, they just wanted keep the cost down. Never the less the hood does come in to play by reducing the chances of having things bang against the front element. You will have to remove the hood though if you want to mount filters or even use the polariser as my fingers were unable to effectively turn the polarizer ring.


Generally a very good lens, and one to buy unless you have money for the 17-35mm.
redgetanj

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 5
Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by redgetanj
Review Date: 11/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $400.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent color rendition, internal focusing, very light
Cons: build quality different from PRO lenses

This is the first lens that i got when i bought my first dslr. This is a very good performer especially for outdoor photography. Internal focusing allows you to use filters without worrying that the front of the lens would rotate while focusing. The lens comes with a lens hood that is very useful when using outdoors or shooting adjacent to a light source especially with a huge 77mm diameter up front.


You may need to use all the support you need when shooting in low light because of the max apperture of this lens.


Image quality is sharp. Autofocus is fast although the focus ring is not as smooth as manual focus nikkors of old.


Build quality is better than the kit lenses that comes with newer dslrs but not pro quality.


At this price, it is a good substitute for the more expensive 17-35 f/2.8. A very good first wide angle zoom.
David Stockton

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 2
Nikon 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5D ED-IF AF Nikkor review by David Stockton
Review Date: 10/28/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Superb performance for the price, light
Cons: Medium autofocus speed, hood does little

This lens produces superb, ultra-sharp images with good contrast range and good geometry. For this performance, the price makes it a bargain.


I've used one for five years without any problems, shooting landscapes and interiors on film. The combination of wideangle and good geometry shows up on interior shots. You can shoot flattering images that make rooms look larger than reality


It takes a 77mm threaded filter, and the business end does not rotate when zooming or focusing. It can share filters with the F/2.8 zooms.


The limited aperture gives an average viewfinder brightness so manual focus ease is average, as is low-light autofocus.


Build quality is good but not excellent. The manual focus ring is a bit too free turning and a bit too quick acting, but this is the norm for autofocus lenses. Because the maximum aperture varies widely over the zoom range, this lens really needs a TTL metering body. You have to keep your fingers off of the focus ring when the autofocus drive is engaged on the camera body.


Flare susceptibility is about normal for a wideangle lens. The hood is pretty much useless except at the wide end because of the large change in field of view across this zoom range. You need to look for flare in the viewfinder, and sometimes need a helper with a sunshade


I like this lens a lot. It produces remarkable images and has worked hard for me.


This little brother to the 17-35 F/2.8 AFS works so well that I feel little urge to "trade-up"


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.