SLRGear.com: Interactive Lens Reviews and Opinion.
Digital Camera ReviewsDiscuss lenses in the SLRgear.com Forums (separate login!)



Reviews Views Date of last review
6 101399 4/11/2014
Recommended By Average Purchase
100% of reviewers $250.00
Reader Review Rating Averages
Readers' rating for
Construction Quality
Readers' rating for
Image Quality
Readers'
Overall Rating
spacerspacer
8.33
spacerspacer
7.80
spacerspacer
8.00
olympus12-50f35-63m.jpg


Keywords: Olympus M.Zuiko Wide Mid Tele Zoom Micro-Four-Thirds EZ tested


Thoppa

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 12
Olympus 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ M.Zuiko Digital ED review by Thoppa
Review Date: 4/11/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $250.00| Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Versatile - does it all.
Cons: Unspectacular - doesn't do anything very well

The power zoom and focal range make this a great video lens, and it also doubles as a decent macro lens too. Weather sealing is good but image quality for stills is a little disappointing and f/6.3 is just pitiful. So for stills, it doesn't satisfy me - thankfully, I have the 12-35 too.


I suppose it shouldn't matter, but think it is poorly proportioned - way too long and thin. They should have made it fatter and at worst f/5.6, and better f/4.5


It's very versatile but if you want a stills lens, look elsewhere or don't pay as much as me.
rrwilliams64

Registered: September 2013
Posts: 9
Olympus 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ M.Zuiko Digital ED review by rrwilliams64
Review Date: 3/22/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $200.00| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Build quality, weather sealing, small size
Cons: slow at long end

Build quality, weather sealing, small size
CyeJoeBob

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 2
Olympus 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ M.Zuiko Digital ED review by CyeJoeBob
Review Date: 3/24/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: - sharp, low distortion, very flexible, good build quality, weather-sealed
Cons: - quiet big (8 cm long), only f/3,5-6,3

The weather sealing and the build quality is excellent for this price. One of the best Kit-Lenses that I ever had!
Ocean

Registered: September 2009
Posts: 21
Olympus 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ M.Zuiko Digital ED review by Ocean
Review Date: 12/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: $300.00| Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Macro Mode, fast AF
Cons: cheap construction, only f:6,3, no IS, no Lens hood

small and handy but I am not used to the cheap-construction Level without lens hood
Optics are good with a bit to much CA.
Olympus can do much better.
maskinmoller

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 6
Olympus 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ M.Zuiko Digital ED review by maskinmoller
Review Date: 9/21/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Useful 12mm wide end. Overall good sharpness. Macro function.
Cons: A bit slow aperture

Compared to other kit lenses I've owned from other systems this is the best so far!


Surely it doesn't match a prime lens for sharpness or shallow DOF, but what it does it does well.


Really find the macro function and 12mm wide end very useful.


Rating is only to be compared with other kit lenses. Not on the same scale as eg the Olympus 75/1.8
halfmac

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 11
Olympus 12-50mm f/3.5-6.3 EZ M.Zuiko Digital ED review by halfmac
Review Date: 8/9/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Total Spent: None indicated| Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small, light, weather sealed, wide, macro, internal zoom & focus
Cons: slow tele aperture

The M.Zuiko Digital 12-50mm f3.5-6.3 EZ kit lens was a bit of a surprise. I did not think that I needed this lens but I do like it.
It is very small and light. It is also weather sealed like the camera and focuses very quickly. I like that the wide end is at 12mm. At f3.5 it is not that slow in aperture.
The implementing of the power zoom is well done.
The images are good. Stays on my camera a lot. Here in WA we get a lot of rain so this is a nice lens to have.
I also use the macro function quite often.
The lens did not come with a lens shade so I ordered one from a third party one. Come on Olympus, where is the shade? Thank you, Panasonic.


See my EM-5 review at: http://frugalfilmmakers.com/2012/07/10/i-could-not-resist-the-olympus-e-m5/


 






This document copyright © 2009-2014, SLRgear.com, all rights reserved.